Weekend Watch: This is 40

This-is-40-2012-Movie-Title-Banner

OK, I’m doing my best here to be as consistent as possible. I’ve tried lists, netflix reviews, and other sordid gimmicks to remain somewhat stable with my movie reviews. Fail.

Well, here’s my new one … attempting to post every Thursday so you have a movie suggestion for the weekend. Welcome to the first edition of Weekend Watch.

This Is 40 … is not as funny as I wanted it to be, but funny enough. Worth watching this weekend? Sure, especially the unrated version, but there are some caveats.

We’re reunited with a couple of cast members we’ve grown to love since the 40 Year Old Virgin, and who reprise their characters from Knocked-Up. Yes, this is a Judd Apatow movie, so once again we expect some earnest sweetness bundled with humor centered around bodily functions. We get to watch a married couple come to terms with … dun dun dun … turning 40. The problem with this movie is … it all seems a little forced, or perhaps a little too long. But perhaps the significance of turning 40 is wasted on me. When Juliet and I recently asked one of our friends how his 40th birthday turned out, he told us it was the worst birthday of his life. Well, I guess we’ve got something to look forward to.

By the way, if you’ have never seen Lost and were hoping to watch the series soon, or let’s say you’re only three episodes from the finale, then DO NOT WATCH this movie. Unless you’d like to listen to the fate of every main character in a brilliant twenty-second bit.

Also, this is Megan Fox’s best performance to date. But I digress …

Actually, not really. I have nothing more profound to say. You’ll laugh a bit. Get bored a bit. Find a couple things brilliant. Ogle Megan swimming in the backyard pool. And ultimately forget the movie.

PS – Who doesn’t like Paul Rudd?

