the Mechanic … sucked

I’m not even finished watching this on DVD and I had to write about how much this sucks. It may be the first Jason Statham movie that I’m sorry I watched (I forgave him for the Transporter 3). Ben Foster is the same character from Alpha Dog, X-Men, and every other movie he plays. Wayward son looking for purpose that out of nowhere is supposed to be a heroic figure, Statham his mentor. No chemistry, no secondary plot of consequence, and nothing even resembling a storyline that pretends its viewers are intelligent or even paying attention.

There’s a pretty violent kill every several minutes to keep action junkies watching. Even those are unoriginal. Skip it. Watch reruns of the Wire if you’d like to see some good old fashioned storytelling, underworld intelligence, and good acting.

